In 1884, French attacked Keelung. There was fierce fighting around Fairy Cave during the Sino-French War, with many Qing soldiers killed in action. A stele was later erected on Taibai Street near Fairy Cave to commemorate the fallen martyrs on which was carved The Tomb of Qing Chinese. Later, to allow all the martyrs to be worshipped in one place, the Ci’en Temple was built. Above the temple, the Memorial Stele for Soldiers who fell in the China-French War was erected.
This place is more suitable for historians